My daily morning ritual

Since the past few months, I’ve been waking up at 6 in the morning. I go for a run after having two espresso shots. It makes me feel fresh and keeps me energetic for the rest of the day.

And after my run my ‘me-time’ begins. My mornings are incomplete without 3 things- another cup of coffee, a book and a pen. I make it a point to write every morning. It could be anything.. my thoughts, what I did the previous day, what I plan on doing for the rest of the day, a story, a  poem, anything. It depends on my mood. And the coffee only makes it better!

It’s a habit I have developed over the past few years. And it really helps me clear my thoughts and connect with myself.

Earlier I used to read the newspaper in the morning as well. But I don’t anymore. It depresses me. I know, it sounds ironic coming from someone who wants to become a journalist someday.

But there are so many bad things happening around the world and I don’t want to ruin my mornings reading about it anymore. It just makes me realize how unhappy this world is. I read it a little later in the day though, when I’m occupied with other things to do.

I wish people would concentrate more on what makes them happy and not on what makes them sad. Yes, I know every one of us is going or has gone through something terrible. It could be losing a parent, a child or someone else you love, heartbreak, an accident, etc. But life is about moving on from one experience (good or bad) to another, and learning to be happy in the process.

The negativity from this world will slowly wither away, if every individual just focused on what gave them joy. I really hope this world will someday be a happier place for us to live in. Probably then I’ll start reading the newspaper in the morning again.

Leave a Reply

